2019-2020 Department Awards

Our 2019 Fall Tea Awards Banquet was held November 1, 2019. This program recognizes and awards our outstanding students and honors and remembers people who have made an impact on our lives. The awards presented included:

  • The Newell C. Cook Sr. & Jr. Scholarship - Thomas Reason
  • The David C. McIntyre Memorial Scholarship – Kelsey Woodruff
  • Mikal Lynn Sousa Memorial Scholarship - John Brown
  • Dr. Park Wiseman Scholarship – Nicole Koba, Austin Jones, Aaron Jackson, Kelsi Goshinsky, Alexa Stafford, Moira Monson, L. Rebeca Mena, Sydney Johnson, Princess Walker, Mary Asante
  • Sandra K. And Robert J. Morris Scholarship - Joshua Wilson
  • Cardinal Chemist Scholarship - Emma Cole
  • D.J. Angus Scientech Chemistry Award - Veeda Scammahorn
  • General Chemistry - Samantha Turk, Kelsey Woodruff, Joseph Cooper, Emma Lubbehusen, Zahnee Badgley, Abigail Bourne, Nathaniel Proctor, Sydney Yoe, Kaitlyn Blevins

2018-2019 Department Awards

The following graduating seniors received awards at our Annual Senior Recognition Banquet on April 24, 2019:

  • Ralph Joyner Positive Attitude Award - Charles Barrios
  • Outstanding Senior Award - Paige Thorpe
  • Outstanding Performance by a Pre-Professional Chemist - Brandon Watson
  • Outstanding Performance by a Biochemistry Major - Nathan McCann
  • Outstanding Performance by a Sciences and Humanities Major - Josh Kruger
  • Excellence In Undergraduate Research - Olivia Grounds
  • Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award - Jose Rodriguez
  • Excellence in Graduate Teaching - Cody Leasor
  • Excellence in Graduate Research - Dayna Arnett, Slade Kepler

The Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society (ACS) won an Honorable Mention at the National ACS Meeting in New Orleans for recognition of their service and also won an Outstanding Organization Public Service Award from the Ball State Student Voluntary Services.

Our faculty members have a long history of being outstanding teachers. In 2008 two faculty members, Scott Pattison and Patricia Lang, were among the 10 finalists for the Excellence in Teaching Award. Lang was selected as one of the winners and taught “The Chemistry of Artists’ Pigments” as her dream course in the spring 2009. In 2010, Tykhon Zubkov also received the Excellence in Teaching Award. The department is proud of his accomplishments and he was able to pursue his dream course "Nanomaterials: The Chemistry Perspective" in the Spring of 2011.