Peace Center house on McKinley

 The Peace Center house on McKinley

Since 1988, the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies has had a presence on the Ball State campus. It was evident during that time that the student body and campus community needed a place to be educated on international issues while raising awareness on diversity. Over the years, we’ve added a minor, offered services on meditation and mediation, published newsletters, and organized events including the Benjamin V. Cohen Peace Conference. Click here to learn more about our history!

Peace Center Directors

  • Phyllis Zimmerman, 1988-2002
  • George Wolfe, 2002-2006
  • Roger Hollands, 2006-2007 (Interim Director)
  • Lindsey Blom, 2014 (Interim Director)
  • Maria Hernandez Finch, 2019 (Interim Director)
  • Lawrence Gerstein, 2006 to present

Graduate Assistants

  • Madison Pavone, 2022-present 
  • Brandon Miller, 2020-2022
  • Aashna Banerjee, 2018 to 2020
  • Kailah Glock, 2016-2018
  • Hunter Sully, 2014-2016
  • Tacianna Indovina, 2012-2014
  • Emily Elder, 2010-2012
  • Elizabeth Earl, 2008-2010
  • Doris Kirkpatrick, 2006-2008

Peace Center Interns

  • 2022-2023: Christiane Habeshy*, Holley Hannegan*, Kendra McDaniel* 
  • 2021-2022: Austin De Spirito*, Divine Ngangu*, Kayla Trowbridge*
  • 2020-2021: Rus'sel Butts*, Mary Lowry*,  Sophie Nulph, Trent Seward*, Audrey Sullivan, Chloe Thompson
  • 2019-2020: Mylie Brennan*, Michael Cottone*, Audrey Loomis, Adrian Scott*, Star Shomongo*, Marla Summers*
  • 2018-2019: Alexis Brown*, Michael Cottone*, Ren Halter-Rainey*, Olivia Haskett, Brook Haynes, Kayls Keesling*, Katie McClellan*, Jacob Nichols*, Jocelyn Rico*
  • 2017-2018: Genevieve George, Madeline Grosh*, Brook Haynes*, Jonah James *, Daysi Jarvis*, Andrea McDermott*, Anna Muckenfuss*, Erin Smith*
  • 2016-2017: Jessica Deckard-Hills*, Sarah Hazen, Derek Heim*, Chris Held, Hannah McCarthy*, Andrea McDermott, Richard McKinney*, Anna Muckenfuss
  • 2015-2016: Michaela Crowdus*, Adriana Detrinidad*, Chris Held, Richard McKinney*, Alyssa Mitchell*
  • 2014-2015: Rachel Cunigan*, Emily Hart*, Sara Huntington*, Jordan Larson*, Alyssa Mitchell*, Emily Watercutter*, Kiara Vance*
  • 2013-2014: Kaitie Giglio*, Ashli Godfrey*, Emily Hart*, Katie Munn*, Katrina Pieri*
  • 2012-2013: Ahliah Bratzler*, Benjamin Easley*, Ennea Fairchild*, Grace Kozak*, Lacey Lord*, Katina Pieri, Erin Silcox*
  • 2011-2012: Mary Conley*, Lacey Lord*, Rebecca Meyer*, Dennis Sullivan*
  • 2010-2011: Kyra Conatser*, Alexandra Dunham, Jenny Klucarich*, Sarah Rice*, Betsy Whited*
  • 2009-2010: Sara Koerner*, Esther Wolf*
  • 2007-2008: Elizabeth (Earl) Lay*

*Indicates one semester of internship in the academic year.