The 31 voting directors of the Ball State University Foundation Board of Directors guide the direction and oversee the fiduciary responsibilities of the foundation. Dedicated, diverse, and distinguished, these volunteers bring years of business expertise, community involvement, and loyal support in their role as advisors and visionary leaders. With national representation, each board member serves on a committee that best utilizes their area of expertise, including finance, investments, philanthropy, organizational operations, and governance.



Randall E. Pond

Chair Elect

Marla K. Templeton

Vice Chair

Geoffrey S. Mearns


Katherine A. Arbuckle

Immediate Past Chair

Anthony W. Smith

President of Ball State University Foundation and Vice President for University Advancement

Jake D. Logan

Treasurer ♦

Thomas B. Heck

Assistant Secretary

Carolyn S. Young


Patrick J. Alderdice
Thomas C. Bracken
Kenneth R. Briner
Thomas B. Bryan
Marsha J. Casey
E. Renae Conley
Martha S. De Laurentiis
W. Craig Dobbs
Donald D. Dumoulin II
Julie K. Griffith
Jorge R. Gutiérrez
Richard J. Hall
Charles H. Harper
David W. Heeter
Sheri L. Kendall
Thomas J. Kinghorn
James C. Lintzenich
Larry W. Metzing
Michael C. Ray
Larry D. Riley
Scott B. Saxman
Michael P. Smith
Daniel J. Towriss
James R. Williams

Directors Emeriti

  • Jan P. Abbs
  • Stefan S. Anderson *
  • David W. Bahlmann
  • Blaine A. Brownell
  • J. Robert Browning
  • Peter F. Campanella *
  • Michael L. Cox
  • Laura J. Hansen Dean
  • Thomas L. DeWeese
  • J. Richard Emens *
  • Mark A. Ervin *
  • Brian A. Gallagher
  • Jo Ann M. Gora
  • Ben E. Hancock Jr.
  • Marjorie L. Hiner
  • Richard W. Hutson *
  • Paul L. Kozel
  • J. Richard Marshall *
  • Donald L. Mays
  • Matthew J. Momper
  • Kent C. "Oz" Nelson
  • Don L. Park
  • Penny A. Ralston
  • Gregory A. Schenkel
  • Anthony L. Schneider *
  • James R. Schrecongost
  • John R. Seffrin
  • Mary R. Sissel *
  • William L. Skinner *
  • A. Umit Taftali
  • John E. Worthen

* Chairman Emeritus

♦ Non-Voting Members


Foundation Board members serve on one more of the following seven committees:

The Audit Committee oversee the corporation's audit process, including communicating with the auditors and the corporation's staff; review of the audit and management letter process; and recommending potential audit firms.

The Compensation Committee oversees the evaluation and compensation of the President and CEO of the Ball State University Foundation.

The Executive Committee coordinates the activities of the foundation board of directors and its committees and exercises powers as delegated by the board. This committee has the authority to act on behalf of the board between board meetings.

The committee duties include:

  • Reviewing and evaluating the performance of the board and board committees.
  • Establishing and creating charges for task forces and ad hoc committees.
  • Monitoring compliance of the Memorandum of Understanding between the foundation and the university.

The Governance Committee provides for the foundation board's effectiveness and continuing development.

The committee duties include:

  • Providing leadership to the board in assessing its effectiveness.
  • Screening, recruiting, and recommending potential directors for board membership.
  • Identifying continuing education activities.

The Investment Committee oversees the management of the foundation's assets.

The committee duties include:

  • Developing, reviewing, and recommending changes to the foundation's Investment Policy Statement (IPS).
  • Selecting, monitoring, and reviewing the performance of external investment service providers.
  • Providing periodic reports to the board on investment performance and operations.
  • Monitoring the actions of the Investment Subcommittee.

The Operations and Finance Committee advises the foundation board on general fiscal policy, fiscal management, and all operational matters.

The committee duties include:

  • Approving the foundation's fiscal year operating budget.
  • Financial planning, financial reporting, and creating and monitoring internal control and accountability policies.
  • Ensuring compliance and developing policies that protect the organization and manage its exposure to risk.

The Philanthropy Committee promotes, supports, and enhances philanthropy on behalf of Ball State University and its donors.

The committee duties include:

  • Assisting with the cultivation, education, and stewardship of donors.
  • Serving as role models by actively participating in philanthropy activities.
  • Educating the board on best practices in engagement and fundraising.