graduate student giving a presentation

Three Minute Thesis logoCatch a glimpse of the research work done by some of Ball State’s brightest and most innovative graduate students.

As part of Ball State’s Centennial Celebration, and the Graduate School’s 50th anniversary, the Graduate School is participating in the national 3-Minute Thesis Competition. The challenge for participants is to take all the months spent on research and writing their thesis or dissertation and distill it down to a three-minute summary! Up for grabs is more than $3,000 in total prizes and a chance to represent Ball State in the national 3-Minute Thesis Competition.

Join us at 7 p.m. Thursday, February 21 for the final competition, featuring the top 13 presentations from the preliminary rounds.

Registration for participants is complete, but you can still RSVP by 5 p.m. Thursday, February 14, to watch the presentations.

Event Details

Final Event and Reception

Thursday, Feb. 21
7 p.m. (Eastern time)
Emens Auditorium (Ball Brothers Foundation Hospitality Suite)

Ball State University - Est. 1918

Our Centennial

We will have activities and events throughout the academic year to celebrate 100 years of Beneficence: Proud Past. Bright Future. Learn more.


The competitors with the three highest cumulative scores at the final competition will receive:

  • first place – $1,000 and expenses paid to compete at the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools in March
  • second place – $700
  • third place – $500

Also, the audience will have an opportunity to vote for the presentation they like the best. That winner will receive $1,000 (any participant is eligible for audience choice, including the winner and runner-up).

The first place winner of the final competition will represent Ball State at the 3MT competition held at the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools on March 20-22, 2019 in St. Louis, Missouri.

The Graduate School will cover the winner’s travel expenses, and in the event that the winner cannot attend, the runner-up will.


For more information, please contact Dr. Nathan Hitchens.

Email Us