Our Faculty Colloquium Series features occasional research oriented lectures intended primarily for faculty and graduate students. Advanced undergraduates are encouraged to attend as well. The lectures are presented by Ball State faculty and visiting faculty from other institutions. An abstract for each talk will be linked approximately a week ahead of the scheduled date.

2018

Thursday, January 25, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Brad Shutters (Department of Computer Science)
Title: "The Character Compatibility Conjecture (PDF)"

Thursday, March 1, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Gareth Speight (University of Cincinnati)
Title: "Differentiability of Lipschitz Functions in Euclidean Spaces and Carnot Groups (PDF)"

Thursday, April 19, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Ahmed Mohammed (Ball State University)
Title: "On Cauchy-Liouville Property (PDF)"

Tuesday, April 24, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Kathryn Shafer (Ball State University)
Title: "Planning for Action Research in a Mathematics Classroom (PDF)"

Thursday, April 26, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Gino Angelo Velasco (University of the Philippines)
Title: "Local and Global Viewpoints in Time-Frequency Analysis (PDF)"

Thursday, March 30, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Felicia Tabing (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology)
Title: "The Intersection of Japanese Family Crests and Mathematics (PDF)"

Thursday, April 6, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Ilya Krishtal (Northern Illinois University)
Title: "Dynamical Sampling (PDF)"

Thursday, April 20, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Sui Tang (Johns Hopkins University)
Title: "Universal spatiotemporal sampling sets for discrete spatially invariant evolution processes (PDF)"

Thursday, August 24, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Zhuo Jin (The University of Melbourne, Australia)
Title: "Dividend Management with Liability Constraints for Insurance Companies (PDF)"

Thursday, September 21, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Caitlin Leverson (Georgia Institute of Technology)
Title: "Invariants of Legendrian knots (PDF)"

Thursday, October 26, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Mir Masoom Ali, George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor Emeritus (Ball State University)
Title: "History of the Statistics Program at Ball State University (PDF)"

Thursday, November 2, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Ralph Bremigan (Ball State University)
Title: "Hyperka:hler Structures on Complexified Hermitian Symmetric Spaces (PDF)"

Thursday, November 16, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Ira Livshits (Ball State University)
Title: "Multiscale Philosophy: Two Examples (PDF)"

Thursday, November 30, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Atish J. Mitra (Montana Tech of the University of Montana)
Title: "Extension Theory in Large Scale Geometry (PDF)"

Thursday, January 21, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Julia Arciero (Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis)
Title: "A mathematical model of blood flow in theretina (PDF)"

Thursday, March 24, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Michael Sullivan (University of Massachusetts)
Title: "Contact Rigidity (PDF)"

Thursday, April 7, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Sabbatical Presentation
Dr. A.H.M. Rahmatullah Imon (Ball State University)
Title: "Identification of Outliers in Spatial Data (PDF)"

Thursday, April 21, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Alessandro Arsie (The University of Toledo)
Title: "Integrable PDEs: a playground for Mathematicians (PDF)"

Thursday, October 13, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Ms. Ellen Weld (Purdue University)
Title: "A very basic introduction to K-theory for C*-algebras (PDF)"

Thursday, October 20, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Jyotirmoy Sarkar (IUPUI)
Title: "Simple Random Walks on Tetrahedra, Octahedra and Hexahedra (PDF)"

Thursday, November 3, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Mr. Armenak Petrosyan (Vanderbilt University)
Title: "Systems of vectors from iterative actions of operators (PDF)"

Thursday, November 17, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Peter Lambert-Cole (Indiana University)
Title: "Conway mutation and skein relations (PDF)"

Thursday, December 8, RB447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Jose Contreras (Ball State University)
Title: "Developing Inquiry-Based Activities to Enhance Students' Abilities to Represent, Model, Solve, and Pose Problems within Dynamic Geometry Environments (PDF)"

Thursday, January 8, RB 449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Hiroki Sumi (Osaka University)
Title:  “The space of 2-generator post critically bounded polynomial semi groups and random complex dynamics” (PDF)

Thursday, January 29, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Michael Dorff (Brigham Young University)
Title:  “What is the best job of 2014?” (PDF)

Thursday, March 26, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm Sabbatical Presentation
Dr. Sheryl Stump (Ball State University)
Title:  “Prospective Elementary Teachers’ Specialized Content Knowledge of Fractions” (PDF)

Thursday, April 2, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Anthony Rizzie (Purdue University)
Title:  “A Variety of Topics in Real Algebraic Geometry” (PDF)

Thursday, April 9, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Mark J. Panaggio (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology)
Title:  "Synchronization and pattern formation in networks of coupled oscillators" (PDF)

Thursday, October 22, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Yeonhyang Kim (Central Michigan University)
Title:  "Minimal scalings and structural properties of scalable frames" (PDF)

Thursday, October 29, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Neal Coleman (Indiana University)
Title:  “Polya's Eigenvalue Bound” (PDF)

Thursday, November 19, RB449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Kurt Bryan (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology)
Title: "The $25,000,000,000 Eigenvector: The Linear Algebra Behind Google (PDF)"

Thursday, March 6, RB 449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Katsuya Eda (Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan)
Title: “Infinite-sheeted coverings over solenoids (group-structures and coverings)" (PDF)

Thursday, March 27, RB 449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Rahmatullah Imon (Ball State University)
Title: “Analyzing Length-Biased Data: A Study on Lengths of Peas Plants” (PDF)

Thursday, April 3, RB 449, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Anindya Bhadra (Purdue University)
Title: “High-dimensional Joint Bayesian Variable and Covariance Selection:Applications in eQTLAnalysis and Cancer Genomics" (PDF)

Thursday, April 10, RB 449, 1:00-1:50pm
Sabbatical Presentation
Dr. Munni Begum (Ball State University)
Title: “Quantification of Gene Isoforms from RNA-Seq data and Its Impact Downstream Analysis” (PDF)

Thursday, April 17, RB 449, 1:00-1:50pm
Sabbatical Presentation
Dr. Rich Stankewitz (Ball State University)
Title: “The Backward Iteration Chaos Game for Julia sets of Rational Semigroups” (PDF)

Monday, September 8, LB112, 10:00-10:50am
Dr. Claudio Gorodski (University of São Paulo)
Title:  “A metric approach to representations of compact Lie groups” (PDF)

Thursday, October 23, RB 447, 1:00-1:50pm
Dr. Cornelia Van Cott (University of San Francisco)
Title: “Knots, surfaces, and the fourth dimension”Sabbatical Presentation" (PDF)

Dr. Sheryl Stump (Ball State University)
Title: “Prospective Elementary Teachers’ Specialized Content Knowledge of Fractions” (PDF)