Topic: College of Sciences and Humanities

October 13, 2008

Six women will receive the 2008 Indiana Women of Achievement Awards presented by the Task Force on the Status of Women from Ball State University's College of Sciences and Humanities.

Recipients will be honored during ceremonies beginning at 6 p.m. Oct. 15 in the Alumni Center, 2800 W. Bethel Ave. Those interested in attending should contact the College of Sciences and Humanities office at 765-285-1042 to reserve seats.

It's the 10th year the college has sponsored the awards, which recognize outstanding contributions by Hoosier women.

This year's award winners are:

  • Terry Whitt Bailey, president and chief executive officer of Cornerstone Center for the Arts in Muncie, has demonstrated outstanding community leadership.
  • Susan D. Becker, a visionary leader in K-12 science education, is reshaping the study of science for 35,000 students in Indianapolis Public Schools in her role of director of science.
  • Betty Cockrum, who is being recognized for outstanding leadership in public policy, has served the people of Indiana for 29 years in positions ranging from Indiana State Budget director to chief executive officer of Planned Parenthood of Indiana.
  • State Sen. Sue Errington is being recognized for her longtime work in public advocacy, including leadership at the local, state, and national levels of government and in organizations advocating for women's rights and good government.
  • Haven Kimmel, alumna of Ball State and native of Mooreland, is being recognized for her literary accomplishments in writing memoirs, such as "A Girl Named Zippy," and novels that have resulted in her becoming a New York Times No.1 best-selling author.
  • Patricia Schaefer, is being honored for Distinction as a Woman of the Arts, in recognition of her leadership in venues such as the Delaware County Council for the Arts, Masterworks Chorale, Muncie Symphony Orchestra, and Ball State's School of Music and Sursa Performance Hall.