The Higher Learning Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation reflect a set of guiding values. The commission articulates these guiding values so as to offer a better understanding of the criteria and the intentions that underlie them.
  1. Focus on student learning
  2. Education as a public purpose 
  3. Education for a diverse, technological, globally connected world 
  4. A culture of continuous improvement 
  5. Evidence-based institutional learning and self-presentation 
  6. Integrity, transparency, and ethical behavior or practice 
  7. Governance for the well-being of the institution
  8. Planning and management of resources to ensure institutional sustainability
  9. Mission-centered evaluation 
  10. Accreditation through peer review