Topics: College of Communication Information and Media, Scholarships

March 20, 2013

An endowed faculty fellowship in journalism honoring Marilyn Weaver, chair emerita of the Department of Journalism, has been created by an alumnus of the department.

Mike Smith, who received his bachelor’s degree in journalism from Ball State in 1973, donated $125,000 to establish the Marilyn Weaver Faculty Fellowship. Prior to serving as department chair for 14 years, Weaver was a journalism professor, coordinator of secondary education for journalism, director of workshops and an administrative assistant to the department chair. 

In fall 2012, Minjeong Kang, assistant professor of journalism, joined the faculty as the first recipient of the Marilyn Weaver Faculty Fellowship.