Our Mission

We engage students in educational, research, and creative endeavors that empower our graduates to have fulfilling careers and meaningful lives enriched by lifelong learning and service, while we enhance the economic, environmental, and social vitality of our community, our state, and our world.

University Report

Our university report outlines enrollment, student success, campus enhancements, philanthropic investments, and athletics.

About President Geoffrey S. Mearns

Geoffrey S. Mearns is the 17th president of Ball State University. He has extensive experience in higher education and will lead the university as it enters its next 100 years.

On May 15, 2017, he officially joined a welcoming community of students, faculty, staff, alumni, supporters, and friends; a campus whose degrees provide great value to students, families, and Indiana citizens; and a university whose graduates are real-world ready.

President's Speeches

Read and view speeches from Ball State’s commencements, convocations, and other major events. See his speeches.

“We Fly”

We’ve unveiled an inspiring new campaign to reflect who we are and what we do.

The values of the Beneficence Pledge are not new to us, and they are not simply words. We have lived them for more than 100 years, and they are the watchwords for our next century. With Beneficence as our guide—We Fly.

University Administration

President Mearns leads Ball State under the guidance of the university’s nine-member Board of Trustees. Mearns also receives input and advice from his cabinet, a senior leadership team comprising the heads of the institution’s seven divisions and the university foundation. Three additional governing bodies—the University Senate, Staff Council, and Student Government Association—also play key roles in the strategic direction of the university.

Board of Trustees

Appointed by the governor of Indiana, the Board of Trustees is the primary governing entity of Ball State. It sets the strategic direction of the university, ensures fiscal responsibility, and provides oversight to university operations, among its many responsibilities. Learn more.

President's Cabinet

The President’s Cabinet consists of vice presidents and other senior leaders of the university representing its divisions. The team advises the president on all academic and administrative functions of the university. Learn more.

University Senate

The University Senate consists of the Campus Council, Faculty Council, and University Council, each of which include multiple committees. The committees review and advise on policies for everything from admissions standards to academic freedom to student activities. Learn more.

Staff Council

The Staff Council reviews and advises university policies affecting full-time staff of the university. The council has influenced decisions ranging from hiring procedures to parking permits. Learn more.

Student Government Association

Student Government Association is a student-run organization in which elected representatives provide a voice for students and advocate their concerns to university faculty, administration, and the community. Learn more.

Contact Us

Office of the President

Administration Building, room 101
Muncie, IN 47306

8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday