Ball State University faculty and students received two Regional Emmy® Awards and seven Student Production Awards during the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) Lower Great Lakes Emmy Awards on June 20, conducted virtually due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Sports Link, Ball State’s digital sports production program, was honored in seven student production award categories.

Ball State received the following production awards:

  • College Long Form — Non-Fiction — “Why It Matters: A Tale of Two Cities,” Garrett Looker, Michael Robb, Madeline Grosh, Eric Pritchett, and Justin Brown.
  • College Sports — “Football Leadership,” Sports Link: Luke Astle, Shaemus Kreider, and Jordan Nemeth
  • College Sports Program — “NCAA Women's Basketball Tourney Watch,” Sports Link: Faith Denig, Tristan Russell, Jack Kizer, Jarin Matheny, and Adrian Jarding.
  • College Magazine Program – “Every Athlete Matters,” Sports Link: Alex Kartman, telecommunications lecturer and director of digital sports production; Chris Taylor, telecommunications lecturer; Brad Dailey, lecturer of telecommunications and assistant director of digital sports production, and student Jarin Matheny.
  • College Editor – Seena Greiwe, Sports Link.
  • College Photographer — Faith Denig and Seena Greiwe, Sports Link.
  • College Talent – Jack Kizer, Sports Link.

Ball State received the following Regional Emmy Awards:

  • Graphic Arts — News, Animation, Art Design — Chris Flook, associate lecturer of telecommunications, won the award for the opening credit sequence for Indiana Public Radio’s “Christmas Gifts.”
  • Editor — Program (Non-News) — Ryan Shank, ’18, directed “Living Form — a Daily News documentary” while he was a Ball State senior.

These awards bring Ball State's totals since 2000 to 54 Emmy Awards and 29 Student Production Awards.

View a complete list of Ball State nominees.

View a complete list of winners.