Topic: College of Sciences and Humanities

May 3, 2010

Eleven students competed with teams from eight other universities to win the best delegation award at the 18th annual Midwest Model European Union (EU) at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI).

Gene Frankland, professor of political science, has supervised 14 Ball State delegations over the years. Frankland's students have won the best team award five times, two times more than any university participating in this simulation.

"They were much more informed about the institutions and the policies of the EU pertinent to their simulation roles than were most of their peers from other schools," Frankland said. "Furthermore, they knew when to talk and when not to talk, and they were able to be persuasive without alienating others."

The purpose of the simulation, held April 15-17, is to focus on European Union policymaking. Students play roles of European officials and apply decision-making skills to their situation. Ball State students represented Sweden and the Netherlands.

The Swedish team received the award as the best national delegation at the simulation. Three Ball State students were voted the best in their individual roles:  Eric Vandervort as the Swedish foreign minister; Steven Daters as the Swedish environmental minister and Lisa Streinz as the European commissioner from Sweden.

"The European Union, a very important force in the world, is poorly understood by most Americans," Frankland said. "The Model EU course provides a unique opportunity to learn about European and world politics in an interactive manner."

Their participation this spring was made possible by the support of the Department of Political Science and the Office of the Associate Provost.

By Kenzie Grob