Oboist William Wielgus
Start: January 16, 2020 5:30 p.m.
End: January 16, 2020 7:30 p.m.
Location: Hahn Recital Hall

Contact Details

Lisa Kozenko


William Wielgus was a member of the oboe section of the National Symphony Orchestra from 1990 to 2017 upon the invitation of Mstislav Rostropovich. He has also served as English horn of the Oklahoma Symphony and principal oboe of the South Bend Symphony. He may be heard as principal oboe of the Eclipse Chamber Orchestra in their recordings of works of Florian Gassman and Mark Adamo on the Naxos label. He was winner of the 1990 Aspen Woodwind Competition before joining the NSO.

Learn more about guest artist William Wielgus.


Works by Luis Misón, León Biriotti, J. S. Bach, Paul Oehlers, Robert K. Mueller, Seiji Asato, Elizabeth Gil Diaz, Dario Argentesi, Teofilo Alvarez, and Julius Rietz. Collaborating musicians include pianist Cara Chowning and oboists Lisa Kozenko, Jonathan Hearn, Elvis Barksdale II, and Noah Connolly.

A short master class will follow the recital.

Free Admission

This event is free and open to the public.


Parking is available in the McKinley Parking Garage (entrance on Ashland Avenue) located immediately south of Sursa Hall. Metered parking ($1/hr) is available on the first floor of the garage until 7 p.m. at which time parking is free.