Congratulations goes out to the following Department of Mathematical Sciences faculty members.


Dr. Mir Masoom Ali , emeritus professor, for whom a special volume of the Pakistan Journal of Statistics and Operation Research was recently published in honor of his 75th birthday.

Dr. Hanspeter Fischer was recently awarded a Simons Foundation Collaboration Grant, which will provide five years of support for collaboration, travel, and research.

Dr. Ahmed Mohammed continues to serve as the editor of the Mathematics Exchange, an undergraduate journal published by Ball State University.

Dr. Padmini Joshi, emerits professor, recently received a certificate of appreciation from the South Asian Muncie Association, for Outstanding Contributions to Education.

Robin Rufatto, instructor, recently received an Excellence in Teaching Award from the Ball State chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success.


Jack Foley recently received a grant from the Indiana State Treasurer.

August 19, 2011, Dr. Kathryn Shafer was awarded the Rawlings Outstanding Distance Education Teaching Award.

Dr. Mir Masoom Ali visited Sultan Qaboos Univeristy in Muscat, Oman, where he served as an external reviewer for accreditation of their PhD/M.Sc/B.Sc programs in Statistics.


Congratulations to A.A.M. Nurunnabi, A.H.M. Rahmatulla Imon, and M. Nasser, who were recognized as runners up for the 2010 Gopal Kanji Prize by the Journal of Applied Statistics, for their article, "Identification of multiple influential observations in logistic regression."


Our Department received a certificate of appreciation from the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) for our research work and report "Parameterizing the Loss Simulation Model" disseminated to all CAS members.

Robin Rufatto received the Lawhead Teaching Award in The Univeristy Core Curriculum.

Dr. John Emert received an Access Award from the university's Disabled Student Development.


Dr. Michael Karls received the Distinguished Service Award from the Indiana section of the Mathematical Association of America.


Dr. Rebecca Pierce received the Ball State University Award for Outstanding Faculty Service.

Dr. Roger Nelson received the  Distinguished Service Award from the Indiana section of the Mathematical Association of America.

Dr. Mir Masoom Ali received a Gold Medal for his outstanding contributions to the field of statistics by the Islamic Countries Society of Statistical Sciences.