New members of COTE: Charles Allen, John Emert, Dru Furbee, Mai Kuha, John
Lewis and Kurtis Moss

Guest: Dean John Jacobson from the Teachers College was the first dean to meet with
COTE. COTE members expressed their appreciation to Dean Jacobson for his leadership
and hope it sets a precedent for other deans to meet with COTE in the future.

The program featured The Okala Project. Louise St. Pierre, IDSA, assistant dean at Emily
Carr University of Art + Design, Vancouver, B.C. presented via telephone. The Okala
Project offers guidelines that work across disciplines.
Synopsis of program:
Full course guide:

Action Items
–The Hoosier Environmental Council recognized Ball State with its Technology
Innovator of the Year Award during its third annual Green Policy Forum Nov. 6.
–Johnson Hall won the 2010 Residence Hall Energy Challenge. Overall, residents in all
halls in the competition reduced their energy consumption during the contest. To learn
more about the competition, go to
–Sheryl Swingley, representative from the College of Communication, Information, and
Media, reported that seven letters of congratulations that recognize sustainability efforts
were sent to seven people. They are as follows:
–Lou George, FPM
–Melinda Messineo, Sociology
–John Motloch, LA
–Rebecca Staley, Student (BEAT)
–John Taylor, FSEEC
–Megan Tuttle, graduate student
–Jack Willis, FPM

–COTE members discussed two resolutions, but asked for revisions. The resolutions
–Mercury use on campus
–Bikeway planning for Ball State

–The COTE awards banquet will be at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, April 21, at the Alumni
Center. Awards nominations are now being accepted for COTE's Green Initiatives
Award, Exemplar Award and Exemplar Lifetime Achievement Award. Deadline to
nominate people or groups for these awards is March 28, 2011. Anyone can nominate a
person or group for the awards. See the COTE website Awards section for the nomination form.
–Ball State will be one of only 25 universities in the nation to participate in Focus on the
Nation on Thursday, Feb. 24. Graduate student Vivian Bogue is serving as chairwoman
of the organizing committee.

Member reports:
–Mike Mayfield gave a sustainability report as the representative for contract faculty.
–Dave Concepcion from the College of Sciences and Humanities announced he will be
the new department chairman for philosophy and religious studies and that Mai Kuha will
take his place on COTE beginning February 2011.
–Dean John Jacobson presented the Teachers College report, during which he committed
to increase the Teachers College role in promoting, teaching and practicing sustainability.
–Annette Rose,, from Applied Sciences & Technology announced that
work on the 2011 Living Lightly Fair is under way, and those who are interested in
working on the fair may contact her for additional information.

The next COTE meeting is Monday, Feb. 7, 2011.
Members of the Council on the Environment are appointed by the Provost, and the
Council provides support for sustainability initiatives at Ball State University and the
surrounding community. COTE also provides a forum for the exchange of information
pertaining to sustainability by interweaving social, economic and environmental issues;
striving to increase awareness of the sustainability implications of university and
community operations; facilitating communication and education about sustainability
issues; and celebrating university and community sustainability achievements.