From News Center
University named '2005 TV School of the Year' by IASB (4/29/2005)
Ball State University has been named the "2005 TV School of the Year" by the Indiana Association of School Broadcasters (IASB) in the organization's annual contest.

Ball State beat out 14 IASB members to claim the top prize with students winning 10 individual awards.

"The variety of IASB awards won by our students in television and radio, and the overall 'TV School of the Year' award, reflect the breadth and depth of the telecommunications department and the excellence of its students, faculty and facilities," said Michael Holmes, interim dean of the College of Communication, Information, and Media.

Nancy Carlson, chair of Ball State's telecommunications department, said the IASB honor and the individual student awards might persuade more people to tune into Ball State's programs on cable access and WIPB-TV, or to listen to WCRD-FM. 

"The students do a great job reporting local news, weather and sports," she said. "We can get the national stuff anywhere, any time, but local coverage is what means the most to our listeners and viewers."

Carlson said the IASB award is another major achievement for Ball State's telecommunications program, pointing out that the university was listed as having one of the nation's top broadcasting programs in the country in the book "This Business of Broadcasting," which was published in 2004.

IASB awards its school of the year honor to the university earning the most total points.  Three points were awarded for each first-place, two points for second place and one point for third.

In the television division, Ball State student winners include Scott Akins, first in the television anchor category; John Duong, second in sports anchor and third in news package; Scott Adkins, third in news package; and Brett Varvel, first in music video. NewsLink@Nine won the Best Newscast category.

In the radio division, Ball State winners included Michael Towne, first- and third-place awards for play-by-play; Bodie Bender, first place in the play-by-play category; Nathan Rausch and Alex Graessle each received a third place in spot production; and Joe Hatcher, third place for play-by-play. Graessle also received a third-place award in the air personality category.

By Marc Ransford, Media Relations Manager